Day two on the Path to Glory

This Thursday saw day two of our Age of Sigmar Path to Glory Campaign, in which seven generals face off to see who will be crowned the Nexus Champion! Unfortunately for the Court of the Crimson King, this week saw another two defeats, even with the addition of Mordred the Varghulf Courtier. This week both of my opponents wanted to play the Monolith battleplan, on page 84 of the General’s Handbook. In both cases I was the desecrator, and my mission was to topple the monolith being constructed.

My first game was against Iain’s Dispossessed, and was going rather well until I was double turned, which gave Iain the necessary points to finish his monument. Had I had another turn, I could have potentially cleared his troops from the monument site and survived until my next hero phase, so that I could knock it down.

I deployed in a line, hoping to rush through the line of smelly runts to topple the monument.
I deployed in a line, hoping to rush through the line of smelly runts to topple the monument.
How things looked for the Dispossessed as the Crimson King came barreling in.
How things looked for the Dispossessed as the Crimson King came barreling in.

My second game was against a Soulblight army. In this game I successfully used the summoning powers of the Crimson King to bring in some reinforcements behind enemy lines. Unfortunately it was too little, too late, as my opponent Zach had some incredible rolls, and managed to finish the monument at the beginning of turn 3. Perhaps I should build one of these damn things…

After these battle I am currently at 4 glory points. I need a couple of back to back victories to pull myself ahead and into the running for Nexus Champion, something I hope to do with the latest additions to my forces. The Crimson King found a Blighted Blade and recruited the aid of Sir Ulrich von Liechtenstein, the Crypt Flayer, and his two squires. Next week has the potential to see the conclusion of our Path to Glory Campaign, as there are two people already at 8 glory points!

Leave a Reply

