The path to a painted tournament army – Part 3

Well, I’m committed. I’ve paid my entry fee and submitted my list. I’ve had a chance to play around with some options and am pretty happy with what I have now. I had originally planned to take a single combined arms detachment so that I could use all the tank models that I had, but settled for the new Death Guard Vectorium detachment, after seeing how fragile vehicles can be. This new army is styled as a Death Guard fast attack team, combining incredibly resilient warriors with the means of getting them into position quickly. I’ve tried to keep things somewhat thematic for the Death Guard, but also pushed the boundaries a little by taking bikes and putting most of my squads in rhino transports. My idea for this force is that they were held in stasis during the Horus Heresy, and have only recently been set free. Perhaps Trazyn had something to do with it? Protected from the influence of Nurgle in stasis, they have not had time to become infected, but have managed to gain the aid of Nurgle’s spawn. This army should be a lot of fun, with a lot of interaction with my opponents. All I need to do now is practise with it! I’ll put my list at the end of this post.

So, how goes progress? Quite well! I’ve got all of the models I need built, except for 7 bikes that I need to pick up still, and am hoping that I find an extra plasma gun somewhere for the last member of the chosen squad. Everything is at different stages of being painted now too. The scheme I have for the Death Guard is very simple, and uses only primer plus 7 colours, brown ink, and texture paint. I’m hoping to do a post on how I paint them soon, because it’s not very time consuming at all, and looks great in my opinion.

All but 7 bikes of what I'll be taking with me. I've been using this tournament to experiment with different primers and colour schemes, which will make painting the rest of my models a lot easier.
All but 7 bikes of what I’ll be taking with me. I’ve been using this tournament to experiment with different primers and colour schemes, which will make painting the rest of my models a lot easier.

I’m not a huge fan of the chaos spawn models, so I’ve instead used the crypt horrors from my Age of Sigmar Death army. Part of the reason I started the Death force was to allow for a dual purpose set of models, something I’ll elaborate on in a later post. I’m not too happy with the rhino colour scheme, and will probably revert to white with the typical green stripe across the body. My havocs have been outfitted with autocannons, because who doesn’t love autocannons? They are made with the Burning of Prospero heavy bolter with an autocannon barrel put on the end. Once those are painted up I’ll get some close up shots. Expect more posts shortly, as time is pressing on, and there are many models to paint…

Here’s the list of what I’m taking! Lots of melta bombs, I had a bad time with a squad of marines and an Ork Deff Dread…

~ Death Guard Vectorium ~
~ Core: Chaos Warband ~ (Everything has the Mark of Nurgle and Veterans of the Long War)
HQ: Chaos Lord on bike with power fist, lighting claw, sigil of corruption, and blight grenades

HQ: Chaos Sorcerer on bike with 2 additional mastery levels, a spell familiar, an aura of dark glory, and blight grenades

Troops: 10 Chaos Space Marines in a rhino with 2 plasma guns, sergeant has melta bombs

Troops: 10 Chaos Space Marines in a rhino with 2 plasma guns, sergeant has melta bombs

Elites: 5 Chaos Chosen in a rhino with 5 plasma guns, sergeant has melta bombs

Fast Attack: 5 Chaos Bikers with two melta guns, sergeant has melta bombs

Fast Attack: 5 Chaos Bikers with two melta guns, sergeant has melta bombs

Heavy Support: 5 Chaos Havocs with 4 autocannons

Heavy Support: 5 Chaos Havocs with 4 autocannons

~ Auxilliary: Spawn ~
Fast Attack: 5 Spawn with mark of Nurgle

Fast Attack: 5 Spawn with mark of Nurgle

 

 

2 thoughts on “The path to a painted tournament army – Part 3

  1. seven colours eh? that alone makes this a genius idea for how well they look when it’s done. You should have no problem getting painted up for the big tourney!

    Like

Leave a Reply

