The path to a painted tournament army – Part 1

It’s 46 days (I’m not counting this evening) to the Kingston Nexus Warhammer 40k Club Championships. I’ve got some models, some of them with paint on them, a transport case, and a faint idea of a list that I want to bring. I will of course be running a Death Guard chaos traitor legion army, with some plague cultists, some tactical marines, havocs, chaos spawn, a vindicator, perhaps a sicaran battle tank, and most likely a heldrake-counts-as model. So far my estimated model total is 73 infantry models and 5 vehicles. I’ve completed 7 in the past week. I still need to also build some sort of display board for them, but I feel like that’s the very last thing that will happen.

Now the question is this: Do I pay my fees and use the pressure to help me paint, or paint and then sign up if I feel that I can finish?

Here’s some of the marines I’ve finished, you can see that I changed colour schemes after three guys, but that’s OK, I don’t want them all to look too similar. I’m using MK III marines from the Burning of Prospero set that also double as my 30k Death Guard army. That’s a post for another day though.

Here are the first 7 guys in the army that I've painted. The sergeant is not pictured, but he's almost finished being painted.
Here are the first 7 guys in the army that I’ve painted. The sergeant is not pictured, but he’s almost finished being painted.
One thought on “The path to a painted tournament army – Part 1

  1. These look really cool – great job! You should register and pay and submit your army list. That will give you the pressure to start churning out the models because you won’t have a safety net (changing the list or just not attending), you’ll actually be forced to do it.

    Pressure is good for productivity : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

